Lyari Educational Festival’ 2013

I dedicate today’s post to all the blossoming flowers’ roses & lilies of lyari, unfolding each and every petal of their talent and skills and contributing for a brighter future.  As I failed to notice any comprehensive insight been delivered of this educational festival held on 9th of February.

image

Colors add beauty to life. This colorful festival where children participated from multiple schools and demonstrated the colorful lyari culture that overshadowed the ongoing discrimination, other political and sectarian violence and disturbance that has now rooted in Pakistan.

The festival was a composite of baloch and sindhi culture, where parents relished on young girls performing a sindhi cultural dance in their Sindhi attire and on the contrary these young gentlemen manifesting their rewards and achievements in the field of sports (usually soccer).

image

image

Lyari town embraces a wide range of people with different backgrounds where the majority residing is baloch. While presenting the balochi culture these young ladies with their fake moustaches are performing a dance for the wedding couple where the bridegroom taking pride of his neatly tied turban seemed busy focusing other ladies around *joke*. A baluchi bride can be easily distinguished by her attire and the designed jewellery that she wears. But this poor bride to me looked beautiful but at the same time fatigued and exhausted, left me wondering how long she has to stay in this position. Though these tiny two musicians trying their way best to entertain. And the small kid around was extremely cuddly and attention grabbing.

image
image

Life in interior Sindh also been introduced by these young beautiful ladies whom I found so much involved in their activities that added a realistic feel to the entire set. Also male nursing students from Lyari General Hospital participated involving their efforts in bringing awareness of the expanding need of nursing staff.

image

image

image

image

ADNAN SHAH’S HOUSE:
The following picture is quite interesting where students jotted down the districts of karachi. Been scratching my head for a long while, did a little brain storming too of me having no knowledge about that blue house jotted at the end of the board. Might have missed being introduced of this great personality in karachi named as ‘Adnan Shah’.

“I’m sorry it isn’t in my knowledge, anything can I know of that blue house? ” I asked one of the teacher.

She was so humble and laughed in response. “Adnan Shah is one of my students who contributed in this project and that is actually where he resides.”

And we both ended up laughing. She knew I was expecting a big personality in return of my question.
image

Also got an opportunity meeting Mr.Zarkhan Baloch from vsh team with his children gang. He was kind enough giving me a shot. Attaching a few clicks of the stage performances as well. Children been rewarded for their efforts but till then I wasn’t there.

image

image

image

This is Lyari too. And ending with my favourite click here. Adios!
image

Leave a comment